The Hermetic Principles - Ancient Wisdom for a Better Life


The seven principles are the foundation of Hermeticism, a branch of spiritual philosophy dating back over 5000 years ago. They were outlined by famed author Hermes Trismegistus, who is believed to have written the Emerald Tablet and the Corpus Hermeticum (two highly influential, ancient teachings).

His work would go on to influence both ancient Greek and Egyptian cultures, with both adopting him as a god of wisdom. (In Greece he was called Hermes; in Egypt, Thoth.) He was known in his time as a great master of the universe and is said to have lived for thousands of years.

Over time, the seven hermetic principles were passed down by word-of-mouth from teacher to student, and eventually, one day in the early 20th century, the teachings were compiled into a book called The Kybalion, written by "The Three Initiates." Today, they remain an occult source of wisdom, separate from any real religion but powerful nonetheless.

And while the seven principles are just one way of understanding the universe, they aren't so constricting that they cannot be studied alongside other spiritual philosophies.

Huge thank you to Sarah Elkhaldy (The Alchemist) for this wonderful collaboration. Please subscribe to The Alchemist Youtube channel for more spiritual knowledge.

Please consider supporting After Skool on Patreon
Visit our site at
Check out the new After Skool prints!
Or send us an email at

Please share, like, comment, subscribe and hit the notifications bell so you don't miss future videos. Thank you.

The Alchemist
Be the first to comment